“Lil Yachty, Lil Uzi Vert and Playboi Carti, Oddball Rap’s Children, at Play” Write Up by Dante Rose

I’m glad that the New York Times had this article by Jon Caramanica and I highly appreciate it, I just wish it had been longer and better- gone more in depth and got down to the marrow of this new wave of hip hop and its impact and greater implications. Though I do like this article, and it is an example of some good and thorough journalism- they went to their concerts and took pictures and listened to their music and whatnot. I didn’t really enjoy some of the elevated diction used here, it struck me as forced and kind of lame in this specific context- I didn’t like it at all. Also what was the deal with the line “their children are, to a man, even stranger”? Don’t get me wrong- I’m glad this article exists and these three artists were written about with some goddamn respect and not just quickly mocked and dismissed. I’m glad the writer appreciates the music and realizes it’s effective and infectious than a motherfucker. Like these people aren’t stupid, there’s intentionality in everything LIL BOAT does, and listen to “Sauce” by Playboi Carti, go listen to that shit and tell me it’s not absolutely phenomenal, the beat is so goddamn skeletal and tasteful, it’s fucking heavenly. And Lil Uzi Vert is my personal favorite, mainly due to the fact that he’s one of the best dressed musicians ever (I saw him live and this motherfucker had on a diamond chain with a killer klowns from outer space t-shirt, balmain jeans and a black pair of yeezys) and his stage presence is from another fucking sphere of existence, shit is ridiculous. I highly appreciate the fact that this article was written without biases and these artists, these poets- weren’t just dismissed like I feel like they are by many people who write articles like these, my favorite thing about this article was how not-prestigious it was. I liked that the writer showed some goddamn respect for these youngsters who all came from absolutely nothing and found success in music, Lil Uzi just released a new mixtape recently and it’s great, there’s this one song that has this gorgeous accordion sample and his sense of melody is borderline-prodigious, so is yachty’s and carti’s they all have great senses of melody, which is good because melody is the single most important thing in music. And I predict that Lil Uzi Vert, Playboi Carti and Lil Boat are all going to continue to get bigger and rise in popularity.

Leave a Reply

